Who are we?

Our NGO has been involved in international cooperation for more than 80 years and has a long experience and institutional expertise in development cooperation and humanitarian action.

Solidar Swiss was founded in 1936 by the Swiss Trade Union Federation and the Swiss Socialist Party under the name of Schweizerisches Arbeiterhilfswerk (Swiss Workers' Relief Organization, SAH).

True to our historical roots, we are driven by the fight for a fairer world. Solidar Suisse conducts awareness campaigns in Switzerland and has operated in recent years with an average annual budget of 18 million Swiss francs. Our organization currently runs more than 60 projects in over 15 countries and employs 34 people in Switzerland and 100 abroad. Organized as an association, Solidar Switzerland is supported by collective members and a broad network of private members and donors. Private foundations and the public sector, in particular the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), Swiss Solidarity and the Liechtenstein Development Service.

(LED) are important partners for us.

Our organization is a member of SOLIDAR, a European network of more than 60 civil society organizations (CSOs) working to defend social justice in Europe and around the world. We are a partner of Alliance Sud, the Swiss alliance of some of the largest NGOs active in the field of international cooperation.

Our vision

At the global level:
A just and equal world, free from discrimination, exploitation and violence, where people's basic needs are met and their fundamental rights are respected; a world where everyone enjoys decent work, social justice, equal opportunities and democratic participation.

At the regional level:
Improve the living conditions of vulnerable populations in West Africa through a holistic response of humanitarian, development and peace actions.

Our mission

Our strategic focus

To promote a more equitable world, Solidar Suisse Burkina Faso focuses its actions on two major programs: the Economy and Work Program (ET) and the Democracy, Civil Society and Humanitarian Action Program (DCSAH).  

In addition, these two programs include a complementary approach called Nexus.Through this approach, Solidar Suisse combines humanitarian action, rural development and peace actions, with the objective of offering better living conditions to rural populations in an environment of social cohesion.

Each program carries out different development projects according to its field of intervention.

Our values

Solidarity and human rights

We stand in solidarity with poor people and vulnerable groups. Human rights are our guiding principle: they are non-negotiable and universal. In addition, we advocate for an equal distribution of resources, goods, services and economic opportunities.

Outspoken

We take clear positions in major political and social debates. All humanitarian interventions are carried out impartially and independently, based on the rights and needs of the affected people.

Responsibility

We strive to be accountable for our actions and are committed to transparency.

Inclusiveness and equality

We respect all people, regardless of their gender, origin, religion, social position, physical abilities or sexual orientation. For Solidar Suisse, gender equality means that all human beings enjoy the same rights, opportunities and benefits in all areas of life. We believe that every person has the right to shape the actions and decisions that affect their lives and the society in which they live in.

Autonomy

As a humanitarian organization, we provide support to people living in precarious conditions and vulnerable groups; these people must be able to enjoy and exercise their rights. Therefore, we do not consider the recipients as passive recipients of charity or as victims, but as active and autonomous people who fight for their rights.

Professionalism

Solidar Switzerland is committed to being a fair employer. As an employer, we promote a culture of personal responsibility, flexibility and professional development. We are competent, innovative and reliable, thanks to qualified and motivated employees

Our approach - Our values in practice

We build sustainable and authentic quality partnerships to enable citizens and their collective organizations to fight for a democratic society and the rule of law. We work with civil society organizations, NGOs, grassroots organizations, social movements, labor rights movements and trade unions. We actively collaborate with our donors, on whose behalf we implement the projects.

Our work is based on cooperation between equal partners. Far from charity based on unequal relationships between donor and recipient, we believe that our understanding of solidarity involves respecting the integrity of our partners and their right to set their own terms. In return, we expect our partners to respect our interests and values.

We engage in national and international movements, platforms and networks to achieve common goals and collectively respond to global challenges.
We actively seek to build appropriate collaborations and alliances to increase the awareness and impact of our work.

We fight against precarious working conditions and exploitation (modern slavery such as child labor or forced labor), while promoting legal, social and labor protection where it is not yet granted. Social protection focuses on labor rights, fair and dignified working conditions, living wages, social security and health, as well as the right to assembly and unionization.

People's participation and organization are important for securing human rights and enabling people to have greater influence over their lives and social development. We strive for universal access to democratic participation and are committed to ensuring that all the people we work for and with are able to influence the policy decisions that shape their lives.

We assume social, economic and ecological responsibility, both nationally and internationally, and are committed to using our resources diligently and carefully.

Humanity faces challenges unprecedented in the 21st century such as climate change, urbanization and migration, inequality, food and water crises, digital transformation, access to renewable energy, fragile states and armed conflict. We believe that we must cooperate across borders and cultures to address these challenges. As a Swiss organization, we must stand in solidarity with those who do not enjoy the wealth, prosperity and security we do. We stand in solidarity with our partner organizations, workers, women, youth and all other affected groups in our priority countries.
Finally, solidarity and responsibility towards future generations compel us to act quickly and responsibly.

All of our work must lead to positive change for the people and communities we work with and contribute meaningfully to development processes. Thus, we strive to optimize our impacts by continually refining the focus of our objectives and results. In doing so, we place as much importance on the use of synergies and collective learning as on the development of concrete, objectively assessed results. Solidar wants to further strengthen its impact and qualitatively evaluate the positive changes in partners, communities, households and individuals.

Global and national reference

Our work is based on a set of multilateral and national standards, legal frameworks and programs. The most important are

Solidar Suisse Burkina Faso's Theory of Change

Our theory of change involves theEconomy and Work, Disasters and Crises, Democracy and Civil Society.  

Download " Solidar Suisse Burkina Faso's Theory of Change

Word from the country representative

Arid lands, climate change, food insecurity, precarious living and working conditions for youth and women, low citizen participation: these are some of the many difficulties faced by rural populations in Burkina Faso.

A predominantly rural country, 8 out of 10 people depend on the land for their livelihoods and the effects of climate change are unbelievably harsh for them.

Additionally, the results of the 5th General Census of Population and Housing (RGPH, 2019) show that 54.7% of the population is of working age (15 years or older). However, within this working age population, only 42.9% are employed compared to 53.8% of people outside the labor force. This is mainly due to: (i) the lack of appropriate educational opportunities for young people in rural areas who are not in school or who are excluded from the education system; (ii) the poor access to vocational training for poor and vulnerable young people and the weak democratic culture, which undermines efforts to emerge from poverty.

On top of that, I add the worsening security situation that is forcing millions of people to leave their homes (leaving behind their property and income-generating activities). This contributes to the increased number of vulnerable people in the country and consequently the increased need for humanitarian action.

In order to contribute to changing this gloomy situation, Solidar Suisse in Burkina Faso supports since the beginning the most vulnerable people to help them improve their living conditions. Through the government of Burkina Faso and our partners in civil society, we offer support to alleviate the suffering of the population.

Train and equip farmers and women in agriculture, livestock and vegetable farming;

Train and educate young people in job-creating professions;

Innovate education by introducing national languages to facilitate learning and interculturality to promote social cohesion. Provide literacy courses to as many people as possible;

Accompany communal actors to a more inclusive citizen participation... This is how we express our solidarity to the men and women of Burkina Faso.

Our support is paying off. More and more, farmers are developing resilience to the effects of climate change. Women are gardening, harvesting, selling, and improving the lives of their families. Literate young people, educated and trained in the bilingual system, are succeeding brilliantly in their studies and are integrating into social and professional life.

These efforts deserve to be made known to the world. This is what we aim to do through this website. It is a showcase to discover the program of the Solidar Suisse Representation in Burkina Faso through the life stories of these people who have overcome adversity through our combined efforts.

For us, solidarity also means sharing our life experiences. Let's be in solidarity, let's be Solidar!

R. Dieudonné ZAONGO
Country representative of Solidar Suisse in Burkina Faso

Background

Solidar Suisse has been active in Burkina Faso since 1974. We have chosen not to implement projects directly in the field. Our approach is to accompany our state and civil society partners in implementing projects that are in line with our priority areas of intervention:

In all of our interventions, we place a strong emphasis on gender, organizational and capacity building of farmers' organizations, and natural disaster risk reduction.

The projects of the Solidar Suisse representation in Burkina Faso are in line with the strategy

They offer institutional development, continuity/sustainability, and the potential for positive impacts in the communities.

Team

The representation of Solidar Suisse in Burkina Faso is made up of a varied and professional team on development issues.

Institutional News

Find here the latest news from our organization.

Suivi de la mise en œuvre des activités des projets

-

Solidar Suisse Burkina renforce les capacités de ses partenaires locaux pour un rapportage efficace « Renforcer les capacités des cadres des structures partenaires sur l’élaboration des rapports périodiques notamment leur contribution à l’atteinte des indicateurs...

Find out more

partners

Our financial partners

To carry out our fight for a more equal world, we receive financial support from various partners at the national and international level.  

Enabel

Direction du développement et la Coopération Suisse

Liechtensteinois de développement (LED)

Swiss Solidarity (SwS)

Fédération vaudoise de coopération

Fédération Génévoise de Coopération

Union Européenne

Ambassade du Royaume des Pays-Bas au Burkina Faso

Ambassade royale du Danemark

Our implementing partners

To implement our projects and to maximize success, we work in partnership with various organizations, associations at the national and regional level.  

Caritas Suisse

Artisanal Gold Council

ANEEMAS

Association Beo Neere Agroécologie (ABNA)

Association Beoog-Neere du Ganzourgou (ABN-G)

Association Manegdbzanga (AM)

Association Tind Yalgré (ATY)

OCADES Banfora

OCADES Kaya

OCADES Ouahigouya

Secrétariat National de l’Enseignement catholique (SNEC)

Laboratoire Citoyennetés (LC)

SOS SAHEL International

EDUCO

OCADES Dédougou

FEPAB Ouahigouya

AFLATOUN International

ARFA

Cadre de Concertation des ONG et Associations actives en Education de Base (CEEB)

UFC-Dori

Association Wendkouni

Tin Tua

Tabital lobal

CRUS

Association pour la promotion et l’Intégration de la Jeunesse de la région du Centre-Nord (APIJCN)

ETAT

Autres partenaires

Our Networks

Réseau Solidar

Réseau OSEO

Brüecke Le Pont

Alliance Sud

Swiss NGO DRR Platform

Core Humanitarian Standars Alliance

Texaid

AWO International

Réseau Education de qualité par le Bi-plurilinguisme au Burkina Faso (REB)

Qui sommes nous ?

Notre ONG participe à la coopération internationale depuis plus de 80 ans et s’appuie sur une longue expérience et une expertise institutionnelle dans la coopération au développement et l’action humanitaire.

Solidar Suisse a été fondée en 1936 par l’Union syndicale suisse et le Parti socialiste suisse sous le nom d’OEuvre suisse d’entraide ouvrière.

Toujours attachés à nos racines historiques, nous sommes animés par la lutte pour un monde plus juste. Solidar Suisse mène des campagnes de sensibilisation en Suisse et a fonctionné ces dernières années avec un budget annuel moyen de 18 millions de francs suisses. Notre organisation gère actuellement plus de 60 projets dans plus de 15 pays et emploie 34 personnes en Suisse et 100 à l’étranger. Organisée en tant qu’association, Solidar Suisse bénéficie du soutien de membres collectifs et d’un large réseau de membres privés et de donateurs-trices. Les fondations privées et le secteur public, en particulier la Direction du développement et de la coopération (DDC), la Chaîne du Bonheur et le Service liechtensteinois de développement.

(LED) sont pour nous des partenaires de première importance.

Notre organisation est membre de SOLIDAR, un réseau européen de plus de 60 organisations de la société civile (OSC) œuvrant à la défense de la justice sociale en Europe et dans le monde. Nous sommes partenaire d’Alliance Sud, l’alliance suisse regroupant certaines des plus grandes ONG actives dans le domaine de la coopération internationale.

Notre vision

Au niveau global :
Un monde juste et équitable, exempt de discrimination, d’exploitation et de violence, où les besoins fondamentaux des populations sont satisfaits et leurs droits fondamentaux respectés ; un monde où chacun-e jouit d’un travail décent, de la justice sociale, de l’égalité des chances et la participation démocratique.

Au niveau régional :
Améliorer les conditions de vie des populations vulnérables en Afrique de l’Ouest par une réponse holistique d’actions humanitaires, de développement et de paix.

Notre misison

Notre orientation stratégique

Solidar Suisse Burkina, pour favoriser un monde plus équitable, oriente ses actions autour de 02 grands programmes:  le Programme Economie et Travail (ET) et  le Programme Démocratie, Société Civile et Aide Humanitaire (DCSAH). 

En outre, ces 02 programmes incluent une approche complémentaire appelée Nexus. A travers cette approche, Solidar Suisse combine des actions d’aide humanitaire, de développement rural et de paix, l’objectif étant d’offrir de meilleures conditions de vies aux populations rurales dans un environnement de cohésion sociale.

Chaque programme exécute différents projets de développement selon son champ d’intervention.

Nos valeurs

Solidarité et droits humains

Nous sommes solidaires des personnes pauvres et des groupes vulnérables. Les droits humains constituent notre principe directeur : ils sont non négociables et universels. De plus, nous prônons une répartition équitable des ressources, des biens, des services et des perspectives économiques.

Franc-parler

Nous prenons des positions claires dans les débats politiques et sociaux majeurs. Toutes les interventions humanitaires sont effectuées de manière impartiale et indépendante, sur la base des droits et des besoins des personnes touchées.

Responsabilité

Nous nous efforçons d’être responsables de nos actions et nous nous engageons à faire preuve de transparence.

Inclusivité et égalité

Nous respectons toutes les personnes, indépendamment de leur sexe, origine, religion, position sociale, capacités physiques ou orientation sexuelle. Pour Solidar Suisse, l’égalité des sexes signifie que tous les êtres humains jouissent des mêmes droits, des mêmes opportunités et des mêmes avantages dans tous les domaines de la vie. Nous pensons que chaque personne a le droit de façonner les mesures et décisions qui ont des impacts sur sa vie et la société dans laquelle elle vit.

Autonomisation

En tant qu’organisation humanitaire, nous apportons un soutien aux personnes vivant dans des conditions précaires et aux groupes vulnérables ; ces personnes doivent pouvoir jouir de leurs droits et être en mesure de les exercer. Par conséquent, nous ne considérons pas les récipiendaires comme des bénéficiaires passifs de la charité ou comme des victimes, mais comme des personnes actives et autonomes qui luttent pour leurs droits.

Professionnalisme

Solidar Suisse s’engage à être un employeur équitable. En tant qu’employeur, nous promouvons une culture de responsabilité personnelle, de flexibilité et de développement professionnel. Nous sommes compétent-e-s, innovant-e-s et fiables, grâce à des employé-e-s qualifié-e-s et motivé-e-s

Notre approche — Nos valeurs en pratique

Nous construisons des partenariats durables et authentiques de qualité pour permettre aux citoyen-ne-s et à leurs organisations collectives de lutter pour une société démocratique et un État de droit. Nous travaillons avec des organisations de la société civile, des ONG, des organisations de base, des mouvements sociaux, des mouvements en faveur des droits du travail et des syndicats. Nous collaborons activement avec nos donateurs-trices, au nom desquels nous mettons en œuvre les projets.

Notre travail repose sur la coopération entre partenaires égaux. Loin de la charité reposant sur des relations inégales entre le donneur et le bénéficiaire, nous pensons que notre compréhension de la solidarité implique de respecter l’intégrité de nos partenaires et leur droit de fixer leurs propres conditions. En retour, nous attendons de nos partenaires qu’ils respectent nos intérêts et nos valeurs.

Nous nous engageons dans des mouvements, sur des plateformes et sur des réseaux nationaux et internationaux pour atteindre des objectifs communs et répondre collectivement aux défis mondiaux.
Nous cherchons activement à mettre en place des collaborations et des alliances appropriées afin d’accroître la sensibilisation et l’impact de notre travail.

Nous luttons contre les conditions de travail précaires et l’exploitation (esclavage moderne comme le travail des enfants ou le travail forcé), tout en oeuvrant pour une protection juridique, sociale et du travail lorsqu’elle n’est pas accordée là où elle devrait l’être. La protection sociale porte principalement sur le droit du travail, des conditions de travail justes et dignes, des salaires de subsistance, la sécurité sociale et la santé, ainsi que sur le droit de réunion et de syndicalisation.

La participation et l’organisation des populations s’avèrent importantes pour garantir les droits humains et permettre aux individus d’exercer une plus grande influence sur leur vie et leur développement social. Nous nous battons pour un accès universel à la participation démocratique et nous sommes déterminés à faire en sorte que toutes les personnes pour qui et avec qui nous travaillons soient mesure d’influer sur les décisions politiques qui façonnent leur vie.

Nous assumons une responsabilité sociale, économique et écologique, au niveau national et international, et nous nous engageons à utiliser nos ressources avec diligence et parcimonie.

L’humanité doit faire face à des défis encore inédits au XXIe siècle tels que le changement climatique, l’urbanisation et la migration, les inégalités, les crises alimentaires et d‘accès à l’eau, la transformation numérique, l’accès aux énergies renouvelables, les États fragiles et les conflits armés. Nous estimons que nous devons coopérer au-delà des frontières et des cultures afin de relever ces défis. En tant qu’organisation suisse, nous devons être solidaires de ceux qui ne jouissent pas de la richesse, de la prospérité et de la sécurité dont nous bénéficions. Nous sommes solidaires de nos organisations partenaires, des travailleurs-euses, des femmes, des jeunes et de tout autre groupe concerné dans nos pays prioritaires.
Enfin, la solidarité et la responsabilité envers les générations futures nous obligent à agir rapidement et de manière responsable.

Tout notre travail doit conduire à des changements positifs pour les populations et les communautés avec lesquelles nous travaillons, et contribuer de manière significative aux processus de développement. Ainsi, nous nous efforçons d’optimiser nos impacts en précisant continuellement l’orientation de nos objectifs et de nos résultats. Pour ce faire, nous accordons autant d’importance à l’utilisation de synergies et de l’apprentissage collectif qu’à la valorisation de résultats concrets, évalués de manière objective. Solidar entend renforcer davantage ses impacts et évaluer qualitativement les changements positifs au sein des partenaires, des communautés, des ménages et des personnes.

Référence globale et nationale

Notre travail repose sur un ensemble de normes, cadres juridiques et programmes multilatéraux et nationaux, les plus importants sont :

La théorie du changement de Solidar Suisse Burkina Faso

Notre théorie du changement passe par l’Économie et le Travail, les Catastrophes et les crises, la Démocratie et la société civile

Télécharger « La théorie du changement de Solidar Suisse Burkina Faso »

Mot du représentant pays

Terres arides, changements climatiques, insécurité alimentaire, conditions de vie et de travail précaires des jeunes et des femmes, faible participation citoyenne : sont entre autres de multiples difficultés auxquelles sont confrontées les populations rurales au Burkina Faso.

Pays essentiellement rural, 8 personnes sur 10 vivent de l’exploitation de la terre et les effets des changements climatiques sont d’une rudesse inouïe pour elles.

Par ailleurs, il ressort des résultats du 5e Recensement général de la population et de l’habitation (RGPH, 2019) que 54,7% de la population est en âge de travailler (15 ans ou plus). Cependant au sein de cette population en âge de travailler, seulement 42,9% est occupé contre 53,8% de personnes en dehors de la main-d’œuvre. Cela est dû entre autres : i) à la faiblesse d’une offre éducative adaptée pour les jeunes ruraux non scolarisés ou exclus du système éducatif ; ii) au faible accès à la formation professionnelle des jeunes pauvres et vulnérables et la faible culture démocratique qui annihilent les efforts consentis pour sortir du sous-développement.

A cela j’ajoute la situation sécuritaire délétère qui contraint des millions de populations à quitter leurs localités (en laissant derrière elles leurs biens et activités génératrices de revenus). Ce qui contribue à augmenter le nombre de personnes vulnérables dans le pays et par conséquent les besoins d’aide humanitaire.

Pour contribuer à changer cette donne non reluisante, Solidar Suisse au Burkina Faso épaule, comme elle le fait depuis ses débuts, les plus faibles pour les aider à améliorer leurs conditions d’existence. Par l’intermédiaire de l’État burkinabè et de nos partenaires de la société civile, nous proposons des réponses pour atténuer la souffrance des populations.

Former et équiper les paysans et les femmes en agriculture, élevage et maraîchage ;

Former et éduquer les jeunes aux métiers porteurs d’emploi ;

Innover l’éducation en introduisant les langues nationales afin de faciliter l’apprentissage et l’interculturalité pour promouvoir la cohésion sociale. Offrir les chances d’être alphabétisé au plus grand nombre ;

Accompagner les acteurs communaux à une participation citoyenne plus inclusive… C’est de cette façon que nous exprimons notre solidarité aux hommes et aux femmes du Burkina Faso.

Notre appui porte des fruits. De plus en plus, les paysans développent des capacités de résilience face aux effets des changements climatiques. Des femmes jardinent, récoltent, vendent et améliorent les conditions de vie de leurs familles. Des jeunes alphabétisés, instruits et formés dans le système bilingue réussissent brillamment dans leur cursus et s’insèrent dans la vie socioprofessionnelle.

Ces efforts méritent d’être portés à la connaissance du monde. C’est ce que nous ambitionnons de faire à travers ce site web. Il se veut la vitrine pour découvrir le programme de la Représentation de Solidar Suisse au Burkina Faso à travers les histoires de vie de ces personnes qui ont su vaincre l’adversité grâce à nos efforts conjuguées.

Pour nous, la solidarité c’est aussi le partage de nos expériences de vie. Soyons solidaires, soyons Solidar !

R. Dieudonné ZAONGO
Représentant pays de Solidar suisse au Burkina Faso

Historique

Solidar Suisse est au Burkina Faso depuis 1974. Nous avons fait le choix ici, de ne pas exécuter directement des projets sur le terrain. Notre approche consiste à accompagner nos partenaires étatiques et de la société civile à mettre en œuvre des projets qui s’inscrivent en droite ligne de nos domaines d’intervention prioritaires :

Dans toutes nos interventions, nous accordons une place de choix au genre, au renforcement organisationnel et des capacités des organisations paysannes et à la réduction des risques de catastrophe naturelle.

Les projets de la Représentation de Solidar Suisse au Burkina Faso sont en adéquation avec son orientation stratégique.

Ils présentent les gages d’un développement institutionnel, d’une continuité/pérennité et des chances d’impacts positifs au sein des communautés.

Équipe

La représentation de l’ONG Solidar Suisse au Burkina Faso est riche d’une équipe variée et professionnelle sur les enjeux du développement.

Actualités Institutionnelles

Retrouvez ici nos dernières actualités institutionnelles.

partenaires

Nos partenaires financiers

Pour mener à bien notre lutte pour un monde plus équitable, nous bénéficions de l’appui financier de divers partenaires au niveau national et international. 

Enabel

Direction du développement et la Coopération Suisse

Liechtensteinois de développement (LED)

Swiss Solidarity (SwS)

Fédération vaudoise de coopération

Fédération Génévoise de Coopération

Union Européenne

Ambassade du Royaume des Pays-Bas au Burkina Faso

Ambassade royale du Danemark

Nos partenaires de mise en œuvre

Pour faciliter la mise en œuvre des projets et optimiser les réussites, nous travaillons en partenariat avec diverses organisations, associations au niveau national et régional. 

Artisanal Gold Council

ANEEMAS

Association Beo Neere Agroécologie (ABNA)

Caritas Suisse

Association Beoog-Neere du Ganzourgou (ABN-G)

Association Manegdbzanga (AM)

Association Tind Yalgré (ATY)

OCADES Banfora

OCADES Kaya

OCADES Ouahigouya

Secrétariat National de l’Enseignement catholique (SNEC)

Laboratoire Citoyennetés (LC)

SOS SAHEL International

OCADES Dédougou

EDUCO

FEPAB Ouahigouya

AFLATOUN International

ARFA

Cadre de Concertation des ONG et Associations actives en Education de Base (CEEB)

UFC-Dori

Association Wendkouni

Tin Tua

Tabital lobal

CRUS

Association pour la promotion et l’Intégration de la Jeunesse de la région du Centre-Nord (APIJCN)

ETAT

Autres partenaires

Nos Réseaux

AWO International

Réseau Education de qualité par le Bi-plurilinguisme au Burkina Faso (REB)

Réseau Solidar

Réseau OSEO

Brüecke Le Pont

Alliance Sud

Swiss NGO DRR Platform

Core Humanitarian Standars Alliance

Texaid